Skip to main content
European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations (DG NEAR)

Transition facility

European Commission - Enlargement - Transition facility

The Transition Facility is the post-accession financial assistance granted to countries that joined the EU in 2004, 2007. The assistance will also be granted to Croatia when it joins the Union on 1 July, 2013. The Transition Facility is meant to strengthen the new Member States' administrative capacity to implement EU legislation and to encourage exchange of best practice among peers. The temporary financial assistance addresses the need for strengthening institutional capacity in certain areas through action which could not be financed by Structural Funds.

For more details, see the following section on our website: